Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS)

In March 2022, DVRPC secured Economic Development District (EDD) designation from the Economic Development Administration (EDA) of the U.S. Department of Commerce.  While EDA is the main economic development agency of the federal government and works with EDDs throughout the country to promote regional cooperation and job growth, DVRPC is the designated liaison between EDA and our member counties and constituent communities. The primary purpose of the EDD is to implement the economic development activities and priorities set forth in the region’s CEDS.

Adopted in 2019, Growing Greater Philadelphia, the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) is the region's strategy-driven framework to increase economic productivity, diversify local wealth, improve the culture for underrepresented businesses, and increase individual prosperity for the region's residents. This CEDS covers a nine-county region—Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia in Pennsylvania, and Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, and Mercer in New Jersey. The CEDS was developed through guidance and support of the Economic Development Committee made up of public-and private-sector representatives.

CEDS Indicators

Disclaimer: charts and figures updated daily

Over-the-Year Inflation Rate

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

Unemployment Rate

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

New Housing Units Authorized by Month

Source: U.S. Census Bureau

Note: a huge influx of permits in Philadelphia prior to the 10-year Tax Abatement changing led to an outlier in new housing units authorized for December 2021

At-Place Employment by Industry Group,

Philadelphia MSA Trenton MSA

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, Not Seasonally Adjusted

One-Year Employment Change by Industry Group,

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, Not Seasonally Adjusted

Two-Year Employment Change by Industry Group,

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, Not Seasonally Adjusted


Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA): An MSA is an area with at least one urban core and 50,000 total inhabitants. Each MSA is made up of one or more counties. The Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington MSA (Philadelphia MSA) is comprised of Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia County in Pennsylvania; Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, and Salem County in New Jersey; New Castle County in Delaware; and Cecil County in Maryland. The Trenton-Princeton MSA is comprised of Mercer County in New Jersey.

Use of MSA instead of counties in region: depending on the data source and its variables, some data is not available at the county level. When this is the case, we use the MSA-level data as a proxy for the DVRPC region. Additionally, since the Trenton-Princeton MSA is relatively small, there are times where data is not available for this geography, and in those cases we only show the Philadelphia MSA data.


Over-the-year: change from one year to the other. For example, the change in industry employment from October 2020 to October 2021.

New Housing Units Authorized: these are development projects that have received permits but have not yet been built.